Movie Review – Iron Man 3

WARNING: Spoilers. There are plot giveaways in this review. (But nothing big so stop having a cry and read the damn review!)

OFFICIAL SILVER SCREENER REVIEW

– IRON MAN 3 –

IMDB Rating: 8 out of 10 (34,178 votes)

Director: Shane Black

The poster for Iron Man 3.

The poster for Iron Man 3.

I won’t say Iron Man 3 is perfect. But it’s certainly closest to it than its predecessors.

Tony Stark is back, and just as badass as he was when we last saw him, in Joss Whedon’s epically awesome The Avengers. But this time, his challenger is the almighty ‘Mandarin’. So, without further ado, let’s get into our first point.

Iron Man 3’s best features (get it, I said suit) were shared between three separate yet equally important happenings – contained plot twists, Downey Jr’s Stark, and awesome action.

Let’s get into the plot twists. There were various elements to the twists I admired. They were unpredictable, and relevant, but the thing I was happiest with was that they were contained well. Often times, the story in an action film can get so hectic, that the writer is forced to blow a plot twist completely out of proportion just to keep up with the action. The filmmaker often doesn’t pull it off, and it ends up holding the plot back.

Ran out of gas.

Ran out of gas.

Well, in Iron Man 3, the twists were few, but interesting. The co-writers Drew Pearce, and Shane Black, contained the twists well in the script, to further enhance the story just that little bit more, so it seemed relevant and interesting amidst the unreal action going on in Tony Stark’s world.

Robert Downey Jr. was yet again fantastic in Iron Man 3. He brings a brilliant depth to the role, and seemingly has total understanding of Tony Stark’s wit, charm and character. Downey Jr. has brought forward a brilliant performance as Iron Man once more. Kudos to you, my good man.

The action in Iron Man 3 was totally awesome. The budget – $200 Million – was a sign that good things were to come. And the budget was used very well. The effects were amazing, and the action sequences were very well shot and choreographed. The whole film was a race to keep up with the hysteria the action sequences created. By the end of the film, they were even at the line.

The script was very topsy-turvy. Of course, the dialogue was great, and that’s a relief, because it’s a much trickier task to write a witty, always-on-the-spot character such as Tony Stark, than many people think. But I felt there were a few patches of about 10 minutes each, where everything slowed down, and the film struggled to keep the viewer into it. One example would be the time Pepper and Maya spent together, recouping. It slowed the plot down, and seeing as the previous few minutes had shown us Tony’s house being blown up, it was too quick a jump from fast-to-slow for me to fall into.

Less Tony IN suit, more Tony OUT of suit. I like it.

Less Tony IN suit, more Tony OUT of suit. I like it.

Tony Stark didn’t care to shout out his address to a terrorist leader – an address which I’m sure everybody knows anyway – yet wasn’t quite prepared for an attack. That was a bit of lazy writing. It doesn’t make sense to me that a man who’s always so aware of the situation would basically call for an attack, yet be struck by surprise when he was actually targeted.

Aldrich Killian’s introduction was lame, and cheesy. He was portrayed as a nerdy, erratic little guy who was very intelligent scientifically. I didn’t connect with that. I thought that was very cliché and the writers should’ve made him a little more relatable at the start. His backstory checked out with me, but his appearance was one thing that has been done to cinema-death.

Guy Pearce was good as Killian, though. It’s good to see a few Aussies making waves in big-shot modern-day Hollywood. And Ben Kingsley, I thought, was fantastic in this film. He did a great job when the story all of a sudden piled up on his back, and when you see the twist, you’ll be surprised by him. That’s for sure.

Besides Robert Downey Jr., the best performance came from the little boy Ty Simpkins, who played Harley. I thought the relationship between Tony and Harley was credible, seeing as Stark isn’t the type of guy who makes new friends. The kid was very well written, too. I was a little surprised that we didn’t meet his mother, but I guess that may have complicated things.

Not the face.

Not the face.

I bothered to stay in my seat through the credits, as I was expecting a small little Avengers cut-scene at the end. Well, it turned out to be a dull, 30-second skit-like clip of Tony venting to his Doctor, Bruce Banner. It could’ve been awesome, but it was dull. Then, out of the blackness, the words “Tony Stark will return” appeared. Oh no. Does this mean he’ll be forced back into the suit for some pathetic reason in Iron Man 4? Spare me. Unless I hear good things from people that actually know film, I think I’ll pass.

In the end, Tony managed to discover that he made the suit, and the suit didn’t make him.

Iron Man 3 had its sins, but they didn’t condemn an otherwise fine action film.

MY RATING: 7.5 out of 10.

Like this review? Follow the page! Share it with your friends.

Follow me on Twitter (@ElroyRosenberg), follow me on Instagram (gooserosenberg), and like me on Facebook (/TheSilverScreener)

3 responses to “Movie Review – Iron Man 3

  1. *MILD SPOILERS* Hey Silver, I saw this yesterday, and am probably writing up my review sometime today. And I’ll be honest I wasn’t a huge fan. The thing is, one thing I didn’t like about ‘The twist’ is, I think it would have made more sense for it to not have done that. I think the Mandarin being this mystic foreign power, with the 9 rings, would have been different and interesting. The juxtaposition between Science, and Mysticism. Over the course of the 3 films we’ve mainly just had Stark fight other people like Stark. I mean Jeff Bridges, Sam Rockwell, Mickey Rourke, and Guy Pearce were ultimately ‘The same’ Villain weren’t they? Or am I being too critical? Maybe.

    • No, you’re spot on. The other films were Iron Man literally fighting OTHER Iron Men. This was a bit of a change and I liked that about it. You’re also right on the plot twist. It could have possibly benefited the story to forget it all together. But I think without that, we would’ve been forced to judge the film on Maya’s betrayal, and in comparison to the Mandarin twist, it was tiny. But you have some good points. Thanks for commenting.

  2. I am forced to agree with Samurai on this one. It seemed like the writers were to afraid to tackle the difficulties of pulling off the Magic VS Science plot. A plot, I for one, was Extremely excited about. Not only did they run from the challenge of such a plot, they went so far as to make sure it would (most likely) never take place by turning what could have been Stark/Iron Man’s greatest nemesis into a clown. To add insult to injury, the number of clumsy and/or faulty “Iron Men” that were zipping around and snapping like twigs didn’t help either. Did the film piss me off? I’m pretty sure I’ve given that answer away. Would I consider any of these plot lines problems if I weren’t a fan of the original comics? Possibly, but probably not. However, Star Trek 2 (of the same year) was able to pull off a plot twist that included the character of “Kahn” aimed (I’m guessing) at appeasing the fan base (something I was actually against) perfectly. Wow, I think I just had a full on Nerd-Rant! My apologies, but if there is an “Iron Man 4”, I hope Downey stars in it and although an Iron Man with a drinking problem could work, I would hope, just once, that his enemy not be one of his own creation. It’s almost as if each film is driving home the point that a world that never had Iron Man or Tony Stark in it would be far better off.

Leave a Reply

